How did that happen??

Posted: January 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

tumblr_lqaiexpAPr1qjms8xo1_500

We all have questions and struggles that shape our lives. Some are shared and come within like who am I, why am I here, and how can I be happy? Some are questions that others ask of you. For me, What are you? was a question I was asked daily, by friends, peers, and strangers that seemed baffled by my appearance. I have heard are you Ethiopian? Hawaiian? Polynesian? Samoan? Korean? And my favorite remark, made to me and my white mother while in a grocery line, (I was 6 but will never forget), “Oh I know, you must have gone to Florida for the summer and gotten a really good tan.” In the 3rd grade I discovered my answer; I’m a rainbow.

tumblr_mgz0sp4SIN1rb6r2xo1_500

Leave a Reply

